Electronic Cigarettes Reviews.net

Your #1 Source for E-Cigarette Reviews!

V2 Vertx & Vertx Plus Review V2 Vertx & Vertx Plus Review
RANK
2nd
Kit Price: $40.45*/ with Coupon
Flavors: 6
Nicotine Levels: 5
Warranty: Lifetime
  • High-Capacity Cartridges
  • Intuitive Touch Screen
  • Magnetic Cartridges & Charger
  • Lack of Flavor Options
  • 1 Color Option
  • Cartridges are More Expensive
4.7 of 5
V2 Cigs The Vertx and Vertx Plus are the newest addition to V2's line of products. They feature the power of a tank vaporizer in a conveniently sized micro-cig.
100 100 16

UPDATED 10/21/2016

V2 is consistently rated our top brand due to their commitment to product quality and their innovative products that suit a wide range of e-cigarette users. They just released two new micro-cigs, the Vertx and Vertx Plus, which harness the power of a tank vaporizer in a portable e-cig body. They wanted to combine the power of their V2 Pro line with the portability of their classic batteries, and they certainly delivered just that.

The Vertx and Vertx Plus are available as starter kits, so you’ll have everything you need to start using it. The Vertx starter kit is available on the V2 website for $40.45 and comes with 1 black Vertx battery, 1 magnetic charging cord, 1 Vertx cartridge, and 1 user’s manual. You’re able to choose between V2 Red and V2 Menthol cartridges with a 1.8% nicotine strength. Although we wish the Vertx starter kit came with more cartridge options, you can always buy more cartridges separately on their website, where they are available in 6 different flavors and 5 different nicotine levels.

The Vertx Plus starter kit is available for $80.95 and comes with 1 Vertx Plus battery, 3 Vertx cartridges, 1 magnetic charging cord, and 1 user’s manual. The Vertx Plus expands upon the technology of the Vertx by adding in an intuitive touch screen display. This touch screen allows you to change the voltage of the device, ensuring that you’ll find the exact settings to fit your vaping needs. It also allows you to adjust the display brightness and also features a handy stealth mode. The Vertx Plus comes in your choice of Black, Gray, and Rose Gold so you can choose one to suit your style. Additionally, the Vertx Plus starter kit lets you choose from 12 different flavors: V2 Red, Sahara, Congress, Menthol, Peppermint, Green Tea Menthol, Grape, Cherry, Cola, Vanilla, Chocolate, and Coffee in strengths of 0%, 0.6%, 1.2%, 1.8%, and 2.4% nicotine.

V2 also recently released Vertx and Vertx Plus starter kits with the option of having their Blank cartridges instead. There is no additional charge for the Blank cartridges, so the choice between them and the pre-filled cartridges is entirely up to you. The Blank cartridges are convenient because they allow you to fill them with any PG e-liquid of your choice and you can re-fill them up to 20 times. The Blank cartridges are perfect for those who want to vape with different flavors and don’t mind having to fill their own cartridges.

Review continues after kit comparison table...

  • Kits

  • Given name of the e-cig package Kit Name:
  • The e-cig's construction. Cartomizer: = Atomizer built into replaceable cartridge; 3 Piece = Separate Atomizer.E-cig Type:
  • Number of batteries contained in your kitBatteries:
  • Number of cartridges included in your kitCartridges:
  • Battery Wall Charger Included?Wall Charger:
  • Battery USB Charger Included?USB Charger:
  • Battery Car Charger Included?Car Charger:
  • Personal Charger Pack Included? (Allows recharge on the go)PCP:
  • Standard Storage/Protective Case Included?Case Included:
  • Power Through (Hardwired Battery to USB Port) Included? Power Through:
  • Score from our readers ratings & commentsUser Score:
  • Retail Price (check our coupon section for discounts!)

    Price

  • Compare this kit against other brands in the same price range Rival Compare:
  • standard

  • Vertx Starter Kit
  • Cartomizer
  • 1
  • 1
  • no
  • yes
  • no
  • no
  • no
  • no
  • $40.45

  • highend

  • Vertx Plus Starter Kit
  • Cartomizer
  • 1
  • 3
  • no
  • yes
  • no
  • no
  • no
  • no
  • $80.95


The body of the Vertx and the Vertx Plus is very smooth and sleek. Its single-body construction is similar to the V2 Pro line of devices in that they use magnetic cartridges that fit into a recessed cartridge chamber. This recessed cartridge eliminates the risk of leaking or broken cartridges. It’s also much easier and faster to change your cartridges out. The Vertx and Vertx Plus are currently only available in black, but we’ve heard rumors that they’re going to introduce some new colors soon. Make sure to sign up for our e-mail newsletter so you don’t miss out on the latest updates from V2 and the Vertx line of products.

Both the Vertex and Vertx Plus feature a super powerful battery that gives you an extended battery life, ensuring that you won’t have to worry about constantly re-charging your battery. They also feature LED lights on the end of the device that show you how much charge is remaining. When it is time to charge your device, just attach the magnetic charging cord and plug it in. We really love the magnetic charger, because it protects your device just in case it gets unexpectedly pulled off the charger. It also operates as a pass-through, so you can use it even while it’s charging.

The cartridges are also completely magnetic and are more advanced than other V2 cartridges. The Vertx cartridges have a super high capacity, meaning that you’ll get twice as many puffs than their classic cartridges. On average, you can get around 650 puffs per Vertx cartridge. They’re also super easy to take out and pop in, since they’re completely magnetic. The magnets are really strong, so you don’t have to worry about the cartridge falling out. The tank-like system ensures that each puff is true to its flavor profile, from your first hit to your last.

Overall, we were really impressed with the Vertx and the Vertx Plus. Micro-cigs are looking like they’re going to be the next big thing, since they harness the power of a tank-style device with the portability of a cig-a-like. It’s also really convenient to have a cartridge that last much longer than most other cartridges we’ve tried. The vapor payoff is great and it gives you a satisfying hit every time. If you’re looking for a new device that’s portable and powerful, the Vertx and Vertx Plus from V2 are definitely worth checking out. Make sure to subscribe to our e-mail newsletter to get the newest updates on the Vertx and other V2 products.

The Vertx and Vertx Plus are the newest addition to V2's line of products. They feature the power of a tank vaporizer in a conveniently sized micro-cig.
  • High-Capacity Cartridges
  • Intuitive Touch Screen
  • Magnetic Cartridges & Charger
  • Lack of Flavor Options
  • 1 Color Option
  • Cartridges are More Expensive

of 5

of 5

of 5

of 5

of 5

of 5

of 5

4.7 of 5
Visit V2 Cigs >
Jane Plumber

Jane Plumber - ECR.net Review Team

Jane joined the ECR.net after meeting Dustin on an E-cigarette forum back in 2009. A now ex-smoker of 25 years, she has witnessed the massive advances in e-cig technology since her first review on the site. Although she doesn't review as often she once did, she still chips in with the odd review. She's currently working hard towards early retirement from her Occupational Therapy practice.

  • Dany

    November 29, 2016 #1 Author

    Dany’s Score

    • Cost/Value

    • Ease of Draw

    • Vapor Production

    • Flavor/Taste

    • Style/Look

    • Customer Service

    • Speed of Shipment

    • Overall Score

    tbh, i used v2 cigs to quit smoking, but i kept ordering bc i just plain like vaping. i thought the touchscreen thingy looked cool so i decided to try the vertex plus and you guys are totally right about the carts lasting longer. i haven’t had mine super long yet, but so far i’m impressed. reallllllly looking forward to purchasing blanks bc i like to mix juices tho. my only complaint is that it took a while to get here. i usually get my order in a couple days, so maybe i’m spoiled lol.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Jesse Hanson

    November 18, 2016 #2 Author

    Jesse Hanson’s Score

    • Cost/Value

    • Ease of Draw

    • Vapor Production

    • Flavor/Taste

    • Style/Look

    • Customer Service

    • Speed of Shipment

    • Overall Score

    I decided to try out the Vertx because I wanted to try something a little different from V2’s classic cartridges. I was drawn to the Vertx Plus because I’ve never seen an e-cig with a touch-screen before. Super easy to use and works great! Very happy with my purchase.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Ben Meyers

    November 17, 2016 #3 Author

    Ben Meyers’s Score

    • Cost/Value

    • Ease of Draw

    • Vapor Production

    • Flavor/Taste

    • Style/Look

    • Customer Service

    • Speed of Shipment

    • Overall Score

    I was looking for a device that I can put in my pocket and take with me to work everyday. The Vertx fits perfectly in my front pants pocket and is so light, sometimes I forget it’s even there. The taste of the cartridges is great, it’s strong yet smooth for all the flavors I’ve tried. The tobacco ones really do taste like tobacco, which is something I really appreciate.

    0 out of 1 users found this review helpful.
    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Amanda Hunter

    November 5, 2016 #4 Author

    Amanda Hunter’s Score

    • Cost/Value

    • Ease of Draw

    • Vapor Production

    • Flavor/Taste

    • Style/Look

    • Customer Service

    • Speed of Shipment

    • Overall Score

    I was really impressed with the Vertx Plus. I decided to spend the extra money to get the touch screen and I’m glad I did. I really like how you can adjust the brightness and the power of the e-cig. It makes it a lot more user friendly than other e-cigs I’ve tried. It’s also so easy to charge it and change out the cartridges. It’s simple and works. 10/10 would recommend

    1 out of 2 users found this review helpful.
    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Visit V2 Cigs's Web Site >

  • Erik Meyers

    November 3, 2016 #5 Author

    Erik Meyers’s Score

    • Cost/Value

    • Ease of Draw

    • Vapor Production

    • Flavor/Taste

    • Style/Look

    • Customer Service

    • Speed of Shipment

    • Overall Score

    This very light, easy to carry, leak free device worked great for me for on the go vaping. I’m getting several hours on a charge plus it allows for pass thru vaping on the fly. The cartridges lock in via a magnet and lasted me easily a day of heavy vaping. The charging cord clicks in also with a magnet, but I did find it easy to bump and disconnec

    t the charge, it was easy to reconnect. I would strongly recommend using a charger your sales rep recommends if you want to wall charge the device. Beware of using overpowered cell phone chargers as the could cause an issue.

    The touch control for voltage was handy to extend battery life and the number of vapes or conversely increase the intensity of the vape. The same control for various lights options wasn’t overly handy to me, but those who want stealth mode you can do it with the Vertx. I have chubbier fingers so it took a bit to get used to the recessed/flush trigger button and I found my fingernail a better tool when using it to change settings.

    Overall I think it’s a great product and now with more flavor options and the promise for self fill cartridges on the horizon, I think you will find you invested wisely by buying this product.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Brandon

    November 1, 2016 #6 Author

    Brandon’s Score

    • Cost/Value

    • Ease of Draw

    • Vapor Production

    • Flavor/Taste

    • Style/Look

    • Customer Service

    • Speed of Shipment

    • Overall Score

    I really liked how the cartridges have e-liquid that you can see instead of the classic cartridges where you can’t see what’s inside them. Worked great! Would recommend to anyone looking to upgrade their classic e-cigs.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Greg M.

    October 31, 2016 #7 Author

    Greg M.’s Score

    • Cost/Value

    • Ease of Draw

    • Vapor Production

    • Flavor/Taste

    • Style/Look

    • Customer Service

    • Speed of Shipment

    • Overall Score

    Works great. Love it.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Janie J

    October 15, 2016 #8 Author

    Janie J’s Score

    • Cost/Value

    • Ease of Draw

    • Vapor Production

    • Flavor/Taste

    • Style/Look

    • Customer Service

    • Speed of Shipment

    • Overall Score

    I really liked the Vertx Plus. I love how it has a touch screen on it, although I do wish the touch screen was a little more receptive like my phone screen is. But it gives off a lot of vapor and they have so many flavors to choose from!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Visit V2 Cigs's Web Site >

  • Max B

    October 10, 2016 #9 Author

    Max B’s Score

    • Cost/Value

    • Ease of Draw

    • Vapor Production

    • Flavor/Taste

    • Style/Look

    • Customer Service

    • Speed of Shipment

    • Overall Score

    For the price, I was expecting a lot more from this device. I wanted something that would give me clouds of vapor and this was not it. It looks nice though.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Rhunt654

    October 2, 2016 #10 Author

    Rhunt654’s Score

    • Cost/Value

    • Ease of Draw

    • Vapor Production

    • Flavor/Taste

    • Style/Look

    • Customer Service

    • Speed of Shipment

    • Overall Score

    I was looking for something that would give me a big vapor payoff without having to spend the money on a more advanced device. I am happy with the Vertx, it works great and the cartridges taste good, but I do wish that it gave off more vapor.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Ryan

    October 1, 2016 #11 Author

    Ryan’s Score

    • Cost/Value

    • Ease of Draw

    • Vapor Production

    • Flavor/Taste

    • Style/Look

    • Customer Service

    • Speed of Shipment

    • Overall Score

    I’ve used the standard V2 cig for awhile but got tired of it occasionally leaking in my mouth so I tried this new model and the good news is it has yet to leak in my mouth but the cartridges are a lot more expensive and only last slightly longer than the standard e cig cartridge the adjustable power setting is a bit silly I can barely tell the dif

    ference between low and high I leave it on medium, but on any setting you have to drag a bit longer to get a normal hit, the mouth piece shape is a bit alien I will probably never get used to it. you can use it while its charging but the cord is very short I am only 5’5 and have to hunch down to use it if its plugged in, the battery life is a little better but not as good as I hoped can’t get a full days use on one charge, its just not worth the extra costs for me I will be switching back to the basic e cig style when I finish with the cartridges.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Jessica Tucker

    September 30, 2016 #12 Author

    Jessica Tucker’s Score

    • Cost/Value

    • Ease of Draw

    • Vapor Production

    • Flavor/Taste

    • Style/Look

    • Customer Service

    • Speed of Shipment

    • Overall Score

    I was looking to switch to a device that was not too advanced where I wouldn’t be able to figure it out, but not too beginner-like. I chose the vertx because it looked like it’s the best of both worlds. I really love the design and how the cartridges are housed safely inside. I was a little worried that the magnets would not keep the cartridges in place but I was pleasantly surprised at how strong they are! No problems whatsoever with it falling out or anything! Great product, this is definitely something I’d recommend.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Visit V2 Cigs's Web Site >

  • Thomas

    September 20, 2016 #13 Author

    Thomas’s Score

    • Cost/Value

    • Ease of Draw

    • Vapor Production

    • Flavor/Taste

    • Style/Look

    • Customer Service

    • Speed of Shipment

    • Overall Score

    So I’ve owned the Apollo E-cig which was where I started. Now after I found out how the bad that was. I got one of those Adjustable vaporizers where you could change amps,volts and get a bunch of smoke right well no worthless 120.00 vape and all it did was leak half the time. Then replace parts every week and never constant taste with the liquid!

    But I’m a menthol smoker and most never came close to what I wanted or cared for until!? One day I googled the best of the best And V2 was among the top 3 so I tried! First ordered the V2 Pro and the menthol cartridges now I must say I give that 4.5 stars. I loved the taste and the battery lasted days and I got 400 puffs + more sometimes from the cartridge. But as always I kinda smoked again here and there and finally basically stopped all in all using it. It was where I did like how I couldn’t change the power and how it would roll everywhere. Also in my pocket it stab me or just sit unnatural. Now I bought this VERTX and had it for a week its amazing and simple seriously hands down must have sits in pocket perfect doesn’t roll no where. But the best thing is the power gauge and the way it hit so smooth and just slide the cartridge like something from superman movie lol just pulls itself into its place and the charger is another whole story just what a heavy smoker needs to quit and wants a simple product to use! For the people that love a lot of smoke you get it for sure and that kick in the throat if you’d want it. Just cant wait for new add-ons! If even are just starting buy this makes it even easier that the disposables seriously I recommend this product hand down number one! BUY IT WORTH THE MONEY!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • coolbeans753

    September 14, 2016 #14 Author

    coolbeans753’s Score

    • Cost/Value

    • Ease of Draw

    • Vapor Production

    • Flavor/Taste

    • Style/Look

    • Customer Service

    • Speed of Shipment

    • Overall Score

    I was super happy with the Vertx Plus! I wanted something new as I was getting tired of my classic style batteries and cartridges, and this was the perfect upgrade! I love V2 products because they’re so well-made and last for a really long time. The Vertx is super easy to use and the cartridges are awesome! I love how you can see the e-liquid inside of them, so you know exactly when it’s time to put in a new one. The magnets on the inside are super strong and make it so easy to change the cartridges out! I seriously love my new e-cig and I bring it everywhere with me,

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Henry James

    September 3, 2016 #15 Author

    Henry James’s Score

    • Cost/Value

    • Ease of Draw

    • Vapor Production

    • Flavor/Taste

    • Style/Look

    • Customer Service

    • Speed of Shipment

    • Overall Score

    The Vertx Plus works great, much more vapor than I was expecting. However, I do wish it cost less. It’s a bit pricey.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Amanda

    August 10, 2016 #16 Author

    Amanda’s Score

    • Cost/Value

    • Ease of Draw

    • Vapor Production

    • Flavor/Taste

    • Style/Look

    • Customer Service

    • Speed of Shipment

    • Overall Score

    Overall the Vertx plus is a good e-cig. The style and features of the e-cig are great. The vapor I don’t feel is that great, its not as smooth as other less expensive e-cigs, though the flavor isn’t bad. I like the choice of nicotine content. I just feel that the quality of the vapor itself wasn’t as good as I was expecting but still worked well.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Visit V2 Cigs's Web Site >

Your Scores
Cost/Value
Ease of Draw
Vapor Production
Flavor/Taste
Style/Look
Customer Service
Speed of Shipment
Overall Score