E-Cig Reviews > Ploom Review

Ploom Review

February 24th, 2011; Updated On: February 3, 2014
Ploom Model 1 Vaporizer

Kit Price: $74.95
Flavors: 7 – See Below
Blends: 2 – See Below
Case Options: 2 – Black or White
Pod Cost: $0.50
Overall Rating:


visit_website



review by dustin

The Ploom Vaporizer is the newest technology on the market available to consumers looking for a smoking alternative. For those smokers who are interested in “Switching, not Quitting,” or if you are looking for a smoking alternative with most of the same benefits as well as a few others e-cigarettes have, but want something that isn’t an electronic cigarette, the Ploom ModelOne Vaporizer is just what you have been looking for.

The Ploom Vaporizer combines clean vapor technology and all natural tobacco “pods” to deliver nicotine into your system without ever actually burning the tobacco or producing smoke. Ploom is set apart from electronic cigarettes because Ploom does not require a battery for operation (it uses butane instead). The model One’s users can choose between 100% REAL US grown & cured tobacco packed into tiny packages called “pods”, or from an expanding line of “Herbal Pods” which are nicotine free and contain a blend of herbs and natural flavorings that can actually freshen your breath like the intense Peppermint included in their “Kick-Ass Mint” Pod. We thought it would be a great idea to introduce Ploom to ECR’s visitors to reach out to those that submitted user reviews claiming they have tried e-cigs but they just don’t taste enough like an “analog” or traditional tobacco cigarette. For these people that want that authentic taste of real tobacco, we think Ploom will be an excellent alternative.

The Ploom Model One Vaporizer

The Ploom model One Vaporizer is about the size of a pen, or a tipped cigarillo, and operates with a patented technology which uses butane to heat the tiny pods through Ploom’s proprietary catalyst system. When the Ploom Model One is filled with butane, it lasts for 2 hours of use before needing to be refilled. To quantify that, a regular tobacco cigarette takes 4 minutes to smoke (on average) and if you smoke 20 a day, that is an hour and a half. So the Ploom Vaporizer needs to be refilled with butane after the time you would have spent smoking 30 cigarettes. For those who smoke a pack a day outside, you can now switch to the Ploom Vaporizer alternative and have an extra hour and a half indoors :).

Each Ploom Pod lasts between 5-10 minutes, depending on the individual’s habits after getting accustomed to using the Ploom. Another bonus is each Ploom Pod is 100% recyclable so after it loses its flavor, you can recycle the Ploom Pod anywhere you recycle other metals, certainly this fact alone sets the Ploom far apart from tobacco cigarettes that produce a cigarette butt after each cigarette is smoked. We all know that cigarette butts are anything but recyclable and sight for sore eyes when littered throughout our cities and roadways.

The Ploom Pods

Ploom offers two types of Pods with a current total of 7 varieties:

Tobacco Blends:

  • Naked – taste of 100% pure tobacco
  • Rocket – adds hot cinnamon and mint to natural tobacco
  • Cafe Noir – a hint of cacao taste
  • Gold – a hint of honey-cognac
  • Orchard – natural tobacco combined with peach flavors

The Ploom Pods

Herbal Blends:

  • Kick-Ass Mint – natural peppermint flavor with breath freshening appeal
  • Blue Tea – English Breakfast Tea and berry flavors

Using the Ploom model One is simple, affordable and quite enjoyable! It is made right here in the US in San Francisco, CA to a high quality standard. Ploom now offers a starter kit that comes with a choice of a 2-Pack Black Case or a 2-Pack White Case that will hold everything you need to take your Ploom from place to place and is small enough to fit into a pocket or purse. The only accessories you will most likely need are extra mouthpieces and butane, which are both offered below $5. With the cost savings and the flexibility of places that the Ploom Vaporizer can be used (anywhere e-cigarettes can be used), ECR.net highly recommends it to our readers. This is a unique product that is the only of its kind, and after being an avid e-smoker for nearly 2.5 years now, I didn’t think anything could lead me back to real tobacco! However, the cleanliness and robust flavors produced by the Ploom vaporizer are a perfect treat for me when I want to take my taste buds to a place I’ve not yet been able to find with ANY other product, including the many e-cigarettes I’ve tried and ALL other forms of tobacco.

NOTE: This product is NOT an electronic cigarette. You are still able to use it everywhere you can use an e cigarette, but it is based on hookah or shisha technology and is classified as a pipe tobacco product. Electronic Cigarettes and the Ploom model One Vaporizer each have their own distinct and unique advantages and one is not better than the other. They are both great for their various applications and preference can only be obtained by trying each of them for yourself or reading the feedback by your peers below.

ploom

Spread the E-Cigarette Word, Share!
Overall Score
Cost/Value
Ease of Draw
Vapor Production
Flavor/Taste
Style/Look
Customer Service
Speed of Shipment
10%
ECR.net is the only site that can save you 10% off Ploom starter kits.
ECR10%OFF
5%
Receive 5% off Pods, Accessories, Kits, and Any other item purchased at Ploom!
ECR5%OFF

Join our Facebook page for the latest Ploom News, Reviews & Coupons

Ploom User Reviews

  1. Sonia Walsh
    May 28th, 2011 at 06:55 | #1
    11 out of 39 users found this review helpful.
    Sonia Walsh’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    Hello Dustin, James & Jane

    I got into ecigs a couple of years ago just as it was becoming popular here in the US. I’ve seen the industry go through so many changes over the years and the number of e-cigarette companies since then has tripled I could barely keep up anymore. My personal favorite is the Tornado Tank by Totally Wicked, but my hubby, out of curiosity, recently got his hands on Ploom. He likes to smoke (vape) on the Tornado and in comparison, he likes the taste and design but still doesn’t think it vapes quite as well as some of the others, but overall he thinks it’s a great addition to his collection of personal vaporizers/e-cigs!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No
  2. James
    April 29th, 2011 at 12:40 | #2
    3 out of 4 users found this review helpful.
    James’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    I decided to buy one of these to go with my e-cig because I had never seen anything like it before. I was, however, worried because I read some reviews where it burned your hand, or there wasn’t any vapor, or it made you cough and burned your throat. But when I tried, none of these happened. The vapor dissipates in your lungs, but if you “puff” instead of “inhale” then the vapor is thick. And the company has a list of tips like “don’t put your hand over the heater” or “practice puffing before inhaling” or how to draw properly. It is a little pricey, but it’s a vaporizer, not an e-cig. The refilling method is a little sketchy as the butane sprays all over my hands and you have to make sure that the off button is really off or it will run until it’s dry. I only wish that the website would let you choose your own pods instead of picking out the sample four for you. My only problem is that there looks like little “rocks” in the fuel chamber. I don’t know if this is part of the design, if something broke, or if I got a botched model. But it still works and I’m happy with it! The pods are really cute and the flavor is awesome! You can really taste and smell it unlike e-cig cartriges.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No
  3. BrainDaLion
    February 22nd, 2011 at 15:54 | #3
    2 out of 2 users found this review helpful.
    BrainDaLion’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    Been a ‘ploomer’ now for 4 months. Yes it may seem a bit pricey compared to some cheaper e-cigs but in terms of quality & consistency I don’t think it can really be beaten. This is what happens when some well meaning geeks get their hands on smokeing. Feels and looks like the ipad of vaporizers.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No
  4. Andy Jeffers
    March 1st, 2011 at 12:16 | #4
    2 out of 2 users found this review helpful.
    Andy Jeffers’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    This thing is SWEET! I swear I came up with this invention about 6 years ago, too bad I never actually patented it and went through with it…lol. But seriously, I love my e-cig (eSmoke Pro Series) but I use it only to replace my cravings for real cigarettes. I bought a Ploom modelOne about 3 months ago and I use it when I go out clubbing or to bars/restaurants (even those that still allow smoking). You just can’t find that “real” tobacco taste with most e-cigs, but you sure can with Ploom! The “Gold” Pods are my favorite, the hints of congac are awesome after a big meal, or with an after dinner drink! I wouldn’t be happy without both my e-cig and my Ploom close by now that I’ve experienced both!

    PS – I was wondering when somebody was going to talk about Ploom! I came across it completely by luck!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No
  5. Visit Ploom's Web Site >

  6. Steve J
    March 30th, 2011 at 22:02 | #5
    1 out of 1 users found this review helpful.
    Steve J’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
      Not rated
    • Overall Score

    Pretty cool product, always wanted to try one,

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No
  7. Greg Casperson
    February 28th, 2011 at 02:21 | #6
    1 out of 1 users found this review helpful.
    Greg Casperson’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    I was glad to see your Ploom review! I’ve tried a few e-cig brands and I do like them better than my old Marb Reds, but there is just something about real tobacco taste that I wasn’t getting from my current brand – Blu Cigs. I was at a buddy’s apt last week and he showed me his Ploom. I was intrigued by it and of course made him let me give a whirl, and WOW, the taste was much more authentic than my Blu, or any other e cigarette I’ve tried so far. I suspect it’s because Ploom actually uses actual tobacco in their cartridges, or pockets, whatever you call them J Of course I asked where he got it and he was quick to tell me it’s a secret…haha. He’s such a punk, I know! I knew I’d figure it out with a couple minutes on Google and sure enough. This site certainly helped clear up a lot of my questions! I’m really glad that I found this review with multiple opinions, not just the one. I ordered my Ploom about 40 minutes ago and got both the tobacco and herbal pods and I will certainly report back after giving it a good week’s worth of use. I must admit, it took me a little while to master my e-cig, so I won’t be back
    until I’m sure I’m using it the right way. For someone like me that really has no intention of quitting smoking, the little I used my friend’s, I was still able to find this product to be a more authentic smoking experience than most e-cigs I’ve tried.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No
  8. Rae Coyt
    March 1st, 2011 at 06:28 | #7
    0 out of 1 users found this review helpful.
    Rae Coyt’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    When I ordered the modelOne it came quick and the folks there were quite nice to talk to as well. There was a little bit of a learning curve, but once I got the hang of it I couldn’t put it down. I recommend the Ploom to all the smokers out there who are looking for something different. I am excited to see the next style they come up with since they keep improving it. I can’t believe how far technology has come in quite a short time.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No
  9. Kurt S
    February 28th, 2011 at 15:31 | #8
    Kurt S’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    It is a little more expensive than electronic cigarettes, but it is really worth it! I love The Safe Cig, but the Ploom gives me a little different feeling and taste which is nice to interchange from time to time with using e-cigs. I can’t believe more people aren’t buzzing about the Ploom yet. I suggest everyone check it out as soon as they can because you won’t regret it!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No
  10. Visit Ploom's Web Site >

  11. Eve Hillsman
    February 27th, 2011 at 18:35 | #9
    Eve Hillsman’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    I have been looking for an alternative to cigarettes for some time now. My Husband hated that I smelled like Marlboro Menthols all the time. He gave me the Ploom Model 1 for my birthday this week and I was so happy. My husband was also happy because he said it wasn’t like kissing an ashtray anymore after I smoke with the Ploom. I am sure all the smoking ladies out there can appreciate that :-)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No
  12. Eric Z
    February 27th, 2011 at 10:45 | #10
    Eric Z’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
      Not rated
    • Vapor Production
      Not rated
    • Flavor/Taste
      Not rated
    • Style/Look
      Not rated
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    I am not a smoker at all but I bought this for my mom and she finally threw out the cigarettes. I can’t comment on how it works but I can say it was worth the price and the ploom customer service rep was amazing. I can finally take my kids over to see their Grandma because the house doesn’t smell terrible anymore!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No
  13. Hillary Demaray
    February 26th, 2011 at 22:25 | #11
    Hillary Demaray’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    I am glad you all had the Ploom review up! I heard about it from a friend, but wasn’t sure if it was for me because I already have e-cigs, but the Ploom is great to have when the e-cig batteries run out. I also like to switch it up and I do feel a little more like I am using traditional cigarettes since it is real tobacco. I am just still in shock that these guys are right here in San Francisco and I hadn’t heard of them until recently.

    THANKS!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No
  14. Sara in San Diego
    February 25th, 2011 at 15:05 | #12
    Sara in San Diego’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
      Not rated
    • Vapor Production
      Not rated
    • Flavor/Taste
      Not rated
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
      Not rated
    • Speed of Shipment
      Not rated
    • Overall Score

    OK, OK, will admit this review got me interested. How can you smoke real tobacco and blow out vapor, not smoke? Thought this was some new e-cig brand, but it’s quite different…no battery and no atomizer, huh? I’ve heard so many e-cig brands that claim that you won’t taste a different between e-cigs and real tobacco cigs. Well, I have smoked for 15 years and I can tell the difference! I want real tobacco taste!! Going to order this Ploom vaporizer give it a try. Seems a bit less expensive than most e-cigs, hopefully the quality won’t be impacted by the reduced cost……….and hopefully I can finally replace my tobacco cigs once and for all, with the Ploom if not my e-cigs, or heck perhaps both!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No
  15. Visit Ploom's Web Site >

  16. Carrie
    February 24th, 2011 at 15:39 | #13
    Carrie’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
      Not rated
    • Speed of Shipment
      Not rated
    • Overall Score

    My friend had one of these at the pub last night! Everyone was crowding around him wanted to see how it worked and what it was! It’s so cool! It’s been crossing my mind on and off all day and I had to learn more about it myself! It was nice to finally find a site with some reviews on it! I didn’t know whether to call it an electronic cigarette or something else though. So it’s technically called a Personal Vaporizer, is that right? The Ploom Personal Vaporizer? Whatever it is, it’s super NEAT!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No
  1. No trackbacks yet.
Your Details

Name* :

E-Mail** :

Website:

*(required)
**(required but will be kept private)
Your Scores
Cost/Value
Ease of Draw
Vapor Production
Flavor/Taste
Style/Look
Customer Service
Speed of Shipment
Overall Score
(Stars) 1 = Poor, 2 = Dissapointing, 3 = Average, 4 = Good, 5 = Great
Your Ploom Review
Enter me into your Contest to Win a Starter Kit Every Month by joining our Newsletter!