Key Info

Kit Price:
$45.00
6
4
31
: Flavors
: Nicotine Levels
: Day Warranty

Score & Awards

Instead James 3.4

23 User Reviews

Cynthia W. :: 09/30/09

I heard good thing about Instead so I decided to buy it. I really like the menthol flavor and I've almost kicked the habit of my old Newports.

visit_websitereview by James

INSTEAD Electronic Cigarettes are quite different from the electronic cigarettes I have tried in the past. I’ve heard good things about this brand though, so I decided to purchase their E-Cigarette Kit with E-Liquid Smoke Juice to try them for myself. The biggest difference that I noticed right away when ordering from INSTEAD was that their cartridges don’t come pre-filled.

That is, they sell a bottle of E-Liquid Smoke Juice that you use to fill your cartridges. I thought that this could be messy, but it really isn’t. When I got the kit, I filled up the five empty cartridges right away. I was quite pleased with the flavor and amount of nicotine that I got with each puff. I was also pleased with everything that comes with the INSTEAD E-Cigarette Kit.

Instead Starter KitI like the water resistant stash tin that comes with the kit. I like the design on it and it isn’t too big or bulky so it’s easy to carry around. It also comes with a velvet stash pouch, which I’ve used a few times when I don’t want to carry my e-cigs in my pockets. The kit also includes a USB charger and a USB to AC adapter so I can charge my batteries, which have Blue LED indicator lights to let me know when my battery is getting low. The kit also contains 2 atomizers, 5 empty cartridges and a 15ml bottle of E-Liquid Smoke Juice, which is equivalent to 300 tobacco cigarettes. The E-Liquid Smoke Juice comes in two varieties, one which is American made and one that is imported.

Instead CartridgesI opted to buy the E-Liquid Smoke Juice made on American soil. INSTEAD offers both regular tobacco flavor and menthol E-Liquid Smoke Juice and they are available in a variety of nicotine levels. I opted for the Medium Tobacco (18mg) and was quite please with the flavor and nicotine that I got with the first few puffs. I also like that the INSTEAD Electronic Cigarettes come in the Super Cigarette size. It is slightly larger than a regular cigarette, but it still looks like a tobacco cigarette. I’ve tried a variety of sizes of e-cigs and have found the Super Cigarette size to be the most user-friendly. I will admit that over time, I became tired of having to refill my cartridges. I don’t always remember to refill them so sometimes I have to do that when I am out and about. Other than that, INSTEAD offers a great brand of e-cigarette that I plan to keep in my e-cigarette arsenal.

Spread the E-Cigarette Word, Share!
visit_website

Score Breakdown

  • Cost/Value
  • Ease of Draw
  • Vapor Production
  • Flavor/Taste
  • Style/Look
  • Customer Service
  • Speed of Shipment
Overall Score:

Join our Facebook page for the latest Instead News, Reviews & Coupons

Instead User Reviews

  1. Liz W.
    October 14th, 2009 at 04:01 | #1
    1 out of 2 users found this review helpful.
    Liz W.’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
      Not rated
    • Customer Service
      Not rated
    • Speed of Shipment
      Not rated
    • Overall Score

    I’m going to stick to Blu e-cigs. I decided to give these a try when I saw an online promo for them but I really don’t like the e-liquid and havin to refill my cartridges. Not a big fan!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No
  2. JANET S.
    September 13th, 2011 at 00:47 | #2
    JANET S.’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    I THINK INSTEAD ELEC. CIGARETTES ARE FANTASTIC. I HAVE BEEN A SMOKER FOR OVER 50 YRS. I COULD NOT HAVE QUIT WITHOUT THIS INSTEAD. I HAVE NO PROBLEM USING THE LIQID SMOKE, JUST PUT A SMALL AMOUNT IN, ADD A LITTLE MORE LATER IF YOU NEED IT. NO PROBLEM. I HONESTLY FEEL LIKE I AM STILL SMOKING WITHOUT HARMING MYSELF OR ANYONE ELSE. WHOEVER INVENTED THIS PRODUCT, I LOVE YOU!!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No
  3. Sandra Martineau
    August 31st, 2011 at 11:57 | #3
    Sandra Martineau’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    I love the idea of e-cigs. I have had no problem refilling the cartridges, and even if you do put a little too much in, it’s easy to suck it out with the dropper so no biggy. It is also easy to fill and take extra cartridges with you. However, the atomizers really need help. We have two that quit working just this morning so between the two of us, we have one atomizer. Since we already have so much invested in the batteries (we have 5) and the rest of the stuff, we’ll buy a couple more atomizers and then we’re switching to another brand that has that part figured out better. When all parts are working, it’s great but I wouldn’t trust the atomizer to work and certainly would never be caught with only the one on the cig.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No
  4. Jacob G.
    July 23rd, 2010 at 22:56 | #4
    Jacob G.’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    Instead is absolutely amazing! I have tried many other e-cigs and Instead is the best hands down. Yes filling your own cartridges can be a pain but u control how much liquid you like. I have had a few issues with my atomizer but Insteads Customer Service is unbeatable and extreamly helpful!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No
  5. Visit Instead's Web Site >

  6. Francie DuChamp
    May 2nd, 2010 at 18:15 | #5
    Francie DuChamp’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    Really wasn’t too impressed with the starter kit. I shoulda read the fine print I guess cuz when I got my kit I found out I also needed the e-liquid. Not sure why they would sell something as a starter kit when it really doesn’t have everything you need to start using the Bloog e-cig.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No
  7. Quinn
    March 12th, 2010 at 14:53 | #6
    0 out of 1 users found this review helpful.
    Quinn’s Score

    • Cost/Value
      Not rated
    • Ease of Draw
      Not rated
    • Vapor Production
      Not rated
    • Flavor/Taste
      Not rated
    • Style/Look
      Not rated
    • Customer Service
      Not rated
    • Speed of Shipment
      Not rated
    • Overall Score

    Are you serious? Who has time to fill up an e-cig cartridge? I just want something I can grab and go.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No
  8. Barry
    January 23rd, 2010 at 18:46 | #7
    Barry’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    I can’t say enough about the experience I have had with Instead.  They answer their phone and are very friendly.  As far as the product, I have no complaints.  I got the bottle of liquid at first, but I didn’t like filling my own ends.  So I got their cartomizer that comes filled up with liquid.  It works very well.  It is a little more expensive than the liquid, so I will likely end up with a mixture of filling my own and getting the cartomizers.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No
  9. Jacob G.
    January 21st, 2010 at 19:14 | #8
    Jacob G.’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    Absolutly amazing product but does need a little work on the atomizers though.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No
  10. Visit Instead's Web Site >

  11. Barry
    January 20th, 2010 at 22:10 | #9
    Barry’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    I can’t say enough about the experience I have had with Instead. They answer their phone and are very friendly. As far as the product, I have no complaints. I got the bottle of liquid at first, but I didn’t like filling my own ends. So I got their cartomizer that comes filled up with liquid. It works very well. It is a little more expensive than the liquid, so I will likely end up with a mixture of filling my own and getting the cartomizers.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No
  12. P. Johnson
    January 15th, 2010 at 11:31 | #10
    P. Johnson’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    I love the USA made liquid they offer, it tastes great. I did have an issue with a battery, but they quickly resolved it for me. Joanna is very nice.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No
  13. Colton Chrons
    December 15th, 2009 at 15:58 | #11
    Colton Chrons’s Score

    • Cost/Value
      Not rated
    • Ease of Draw
      Not rated
    • Vapor Production
      Not rated
    • Flavor/Taste
      Not rated
    • Style/Look
      Not rated
    • Customer Service
      Not rated
    • Speed of Shipment
      Not rated
    • Overall Score

    This seems like a bad idea having to fill your cartridge all the time. maybe you can save some money this way but it sounds like a joke to me

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No
  14. Collin W.
    November 8th, 2009 at 11:59 | #12
    Collin W.’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    Had to try the e-cig with the liquid smoke juice. It just sounded cool and I have really enjoyed them so far. I am spending WAY less than I did on tobacco cigarettes.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No
  15. Visit Instead's Web Site >

  16. Carol
    October 22nd, 2009 at 02:06 | #13
    Carol’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
      Not rated
    • Customer Service
      Not rated
    • Speed of Shipment
      Not rated
    • Overall Score

    @Mike S.
    I enjoy refilling carts any norm person would it doesn’t even take that long either!?! Messy? Only if you’re messy do they get messy. It’s easy to drip, and waaaaaay more cost effective. I love it!!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No
  17. Pat W.
    October 19th, 2009 at 13:58 | #14
    Pat W.’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
      Not rated
    • Customer Service
      Not rated
    • Speed of Shipment
      Not rated
    • Overall Score

    I’m a college student and quite a few of my friends smoke e-cigs. I have tried a few different brands and have liked most, but this was definitely not one of the best ones I’ve had. The taste is pretty good but I really don’t like to have to fill up the cartridge.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No
  18. Mike S.
    October 15th, 2009 at 04:09 | #15
    Mike S.’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
      Not rated
    • Customer Service
      Not rated
    • Speed of Shipment
      Not rated
    • Overall Score

    This is the biggest mess I’ve encountered with e-cigs. Not sure why someone would prefer filling their own cartridge with e-liquid instead of just getting new cartridges. I spent more time cleaning this e-cig and filling up cartridges than I care to.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No
  19. Bill W.
    October 6th, 2009 at 19:10 | #16
    Bill W.’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
      Not rated
    • Customer Service
      Not rated
    • Speed of Shipment
      Not rated
    • Overall Score

    I don’t like having to fill up my cartridges………..messy and time consuming.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No
  20. Visit Instead's Web Site >

  21. Louis
    October 5th, 2009 at 18:18 | #17
    Louis’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
      Not rated
    • Customer Service
      Not rated
    • Speed of Shipment
      Not rated
    • Overall Score

    I’ve tried several brands of e-cigs and I like the taste of Instead but I don’t like having to refill the cartridges.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No
  22. Paula
    October 4th, 2009 at 13:02 | #18
    Paula’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
      Not rated
    • Customer Service
      Not rated
    • Speed of Shipment
      Not rated
    • Overall Score

    I have been trying to quit smoking for years. I tried INSTEAD after trying them at the bar because my friend has them. I liked the smooth taste and was surprised at how much money I save over my regular smokes.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No
  23. Ruben
    October 3rd, 2009 at 15:44 | #19
    Ruben’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
      Not rated
    • Customer Service
      Not rated
    • Speed of Shipment
      Not rated
    • Overall Score

    I gave these e-cigs a try. I kinda liked the idea of just refilling my cartridges instead of throwing them away. Good taste. Thanks Instead!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No
  24. Joy
    October 3rd, 2009 at 09:55 | #20
    Joy’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
      Not rated
    • Customer Service
      Not rated
    • Speed of Shipment
      Not rated
    • Overall Score

    I feel much better after using Instead for the past three weeks. No more tobacco smokes for me :)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No
  25. Visit Instead's Web Site >

  26. R. Suarez
    October 2nd, 2009 at 19:15 | #21
    R. Suarez’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
      Not rated
    • Customer Service
      Not rated
    • Speed of Shipment
      Not rated
    • Overall Score

    I thought that these were a little messy to fill the cartridge. Like the taste buy can be kind of hassle when out of filled cartridges.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No
  27. Guillermo D.
    October 1st, 2009 at 18:15 | #22
    Guillermo D.’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
      Not rated
    • Customer Service
      Not rated
    • Speed of Shipment
      Not rated
    • Overall Score

    These works good and taste like my regular cigarette so going to get some more.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No
  28. Cynthia W.
    September 30th, 2009 at 07:15 | #23
    Cynthia W.’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
      Not rated
    • Customer Service
      Not rated
    • Speed of Shipment
      Not rated
    • Overall Score

    I heard good thing about Instead so I decided to buy it. I really like the menthol flavor and I’ve almost kicked the habit of my old Newports.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No
Your Details

Name* :

E-Mail** :

Website:

*(required)
**(required but will be kept private)
Your Scores
Cost/Value
Ease of Draw
Vapor Production
Flavor/Taste
Style/Look
Customer Service
Speed of Shipment
Overall Score
(Stars) 1 = Poor, 2 = Dissapointing, 3 = Average, 4 = Good, 5 = Great
Your Instead Review
Enter me into your Contest to Win a Starter Kit Every Month by joining our Newsletter!