Electronic Cigarettes Reviews.net

Your #1 Source for E-Cigarette Reviews!

Charlie’s Club Review Charlie’s Club Review
RANK
39th
Kit Price: 34.99
Flavors: 3
Nicotine Levels: 3
Warranty:
  • Smooth and crisp taste
  • Unlimited Warranty
  • Only 3 flavors
  • One battery color
1.6 of 5

Charlie’s Club is a new e-cig club that offers monthly subscription packages so you’ll never run out of cartomizers again.    They offer three different memberships based on how much you typically smoke.  Each month, a new supply of cartomizers are delivered directly to your door, meaning you never have to go online or in stores to buy refills, Charlie’s Club takes care of everything for you.FullKitImage

When you join Charlie’s Club, they send you a free member’s package, which includes everything you need to start enjoying your new e-cig membership.  The free member’s package comes with a wall adapter, 2 USB chargers, 2 batteries, and a member information booklet.  Unfortunately, there is no choice in battery color for the member’s package, all batteries come in black.  However, I really liked the design and packaging of the Charlie’s Club member’s package and their cartomizers.  Since both the batteries and the cartomizers are black, it gives the product a very sleek and attractive design.  The tip of the battery lights up red when you inhale, giving it more of a realistic feel.  Another thing I was impressed with is their customer service.  If for some reason your batteries or chargers stop working, simply contact them by e-mail or phone and they will ship new parts to you for free.

Charlie’s Club offers thrEcigee levels of membership: Silver, Gold, or Platinum.  Membership levels are graded based on how much you typically smoke.  The Silver membership package is for people who typically smoke half a pack a day.  It comes with 15 cartridges per month for $34.99 per month with a $5 shipping fee.  The Gold membership package is geared towards smokers who typically smoke a pack a day.  This package comes with 25 cartridges for $49.99 per month.  The Platinum membership package is for those who smoke about 2 packs a day, and includes 50 cartridges per month for $69.99.  One nice thing about joining the Gold or Platinum memberships is that you get free shipping each month.  It may seem kind of expensive, but each cartomizer is advertised as the equivalent to about 2 packs of cigarettes, so you will definitely have enough cartomizers to get you through the month, and then some.  In my opinion, Charlie’s Club is a pretty good value for all that you’re getting.

Review continues after kit comparison table...

  • Charlie's Club Kits

  • Given name of the e-cig package Kit Name:
  • The e-cig's construction. Cartomizer: = Atomizer built into replaceable cartridge; 3 Piece = Separate Atomizer.E-cig Type:
  • Number of batteries contained in your kitBatteries:
  • Number of cartridges included in your kitCartridges:
  • Battery Wall Charger Included?Wall Charger:
  • Battery USB Charger Included?USB Charger:
  • Battery Car Charger Included?Car Charger:
  • Personal Charger Pack Included? (Allows recharge on the go)PCP:
  • Standard Storage/Protective Case Included?Case Included:
  • Power Through (Hardwired Battery to USB Port) Included? Power Through:
  • Score from our readers ratings & commentsUser Score:
  • Retail Price (check our coupon section for discounts!)

    Price

  • Compare this kit against other brands in the same price range Rival Compare:
  • starter

  • Silver
  • Cartomizer
  • 2
  • 15/month
  • yes
  • yes
  • no
  • no
  • no
  • no
  • 34.99

  • standard

  • Gold
  • Cartomizer
  • 2
  • 25/month
  • yes
  • yes
  • no
  • no
  • no
  • no
  • 49.99

  • highend

  • Platinum
  • Cartomizer
  • 2
  • 50/month
  • yes
  • yes
  • no
  • no
  • no
  • no
  • 69.99

CartomizersThe cartomizers come in 3 different flavors: Charlie’s Choice, Charlie’s Green, and Charlie’s Blue.  For my welcome package and membership, I chose the Charlie’s Green and Charlie’s Blue flavors.  Charlie’s Green is a sweet minty flavor.  You can definitely taste the menthol while inhaling, but the taste doesn’t really linger.  Those that are used to smoking e-cigs or traditional cigarettes with lots of menthol may not be super impressed with this flavor, since the menthol taste is not very strong.  The Charlie’s Blue cartomizers are described as being a sun-cured tobacco flavor.  I thought it was very smooth and clean tasting like the Charlie’s Green flavor, but reminded me of a light cigarette.   Charlie’s Choice is the third flavor option, which is described as being smooth and sweet, but bold.  I thought both flavors that I tried were extremely smooth and pleasant tasting.  One thing I missed however was the lack of throat hit while inhaling.  I’m normally used to smoking over a pack a day, which is why the throat hit may seem minimal to me.  I’m sure those who smoke less than a pack a day may have a different experience.  The cartomizers allow a satisfying amount of vapor, but you won’t be blowing out clouds like you see with mechanical mods.  Although I enjoyed how smooth and sweet these flavors tasted, I wish they had a bigger selection of flavors to choose from instead of just 3.

Overall, I was pretty impressed with my Charlie’s Club member’s packKitImageage and membership.  I really liked how they send you all of the hardware for free.  You only have to pay for the cartomizers, which I think is a really good deal.  I wish you could choose between different battery colors, but I must say that the black design is definitely eye-catching and looks very nice.  Although I wish they had more flavors of cartomizers, the taste of the two flavors I tried was very smooth and tasty.  It’s definitely an e-cig that you can smoke all day with no problems. I also really liked that you never have to go online and order cartomizers, Charlie’s Club takes care of that for you each month.  Even though Charlie’s Club may sound expensive at first, you really are getting your money’s worth for a quality product.

Charlie's Club is one of the first brands to offer a subscription-type membership, where you receive cartridges delivered straight to your door each month.
  • Smooth and crisp taste
  • Unlimited Warranty
  • Only 3 flavors
  • One battery color

3.2 of 5

3.1 of 5

3.2 of 5

3.5 of 5

3.8 of 5

3.5 of 5

3.3 of 5

1.6 of 5
Visit Charlie's Club >
Jane Plumber

Jane Plumber - ECR.net Review Team

Jane joined the ECR.net after meeting Dustin on an E-cigarette forum back in 2009. A now ex-smoker of 25 years, she has witnessed the massive advances in e-cig technology since her first review on the site. Although she doesn't review as often she once did, she still chips in with the odd review. She's currently working hard towards early retirement from her Occupational Therapy practice.

  • Jessica Tucker

    January 16, 2015 #1 Author

    Jessica Tucker’s Score

    • Cost/Value

    • Ease of Draw

    • Vapor Production

    • Flavor/Taste

    • Style/Look

    • Customer Service

    • Speed of Shipment

    • Overall Score

    Although I’m not one to sign up for monthly recurring memberships, and may cancel mine in the near future, I must say I am pleasantly surprised by how nice the quality is of Charlie’s Club’s products. I wasn’t expecting much from the batteries since they give them to you for free, but they’re actually super good looking and work very well. Kind of a short battery life, but that’s probably why they give you 2. The flavors are very smooth tasting, not a lot of throat hit, but still very enjoyable. I just wish you could buy the cartridges as you need them.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Robert A.

    January 4, 2015 #2 Author

    Robert A.’s Score

    • Cost/Value

    • Ease of Draw

    • Vapor Production

    • Flavor/Taste

    • Style/Look

    • Customer Service

    • Speed of Shipment

    • Overall Score

    Came here to say I absolutely love this brand. I love that they ship you refills of the cartomizers every month. Getting a new shipment reminds me to keep on track and to stick with e-cigs instead of falling back into the trap of analog cigs. I love Charlie’s Club.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Kristie

    January 1, 2015 #3 Author

    Kristie’s Score

    • Cost/Value

    • Ease of Draw

    • Vapor Production

    • Flavor/Taste

    • Style/Look

    • Customer Service

    • Speed of Shipment

    • Overall Score

    Decided to try Charlie’s Club on a whim, and I’m so glad I did. The monthly packages are awesome to look forward to and is so convenient. Although I don’t like the fact that they only have 3 different flavors to choose from, I’ve tried all 3 flavors and I must say they’re very delightful. Menthol normally isn’t my thing, but the menthol cartridges are AMAZING. They taste like peppermint candy, it’s awesome. The other two tobacco flavors are equally amazing. Really happy with my membership. Give us a few more flavors though! Like maybe cherry or grape or something fruity would be nice!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Bryce Kundle

    December 30, 2014 #4 Author

    Bryce Kundle’s Score

    • Cost/Value

    • Ease of Draw

    • Vapor Production

    • Flavor/Taste

    • Style/Look

    • Customer Service

    • Speed of Shipment

    • Overall Score

    I’m quite wary of monthly memberships, because I tend to forget about them and not use them, but Charlie’s Club is nice. I initially ordered it because of the free memebership package, but I’m sticking around because I really like the flavors of their cartridges.

    1 out of 1 users found this review helpful.
    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Visit Charlie's Club's Web Site >

  • Jenny

    November 16, 2014 #5 Author

    Jenny’s Score

    • Cost/Value

    • Ease of Draw

    • Vapor Production

    • Flavor/Taste

    • Style/Look

    • Customer Service

    • Speed of Shipment

    • Overall Score

    Ordered Charlie’s Club’s silver membership because I smoke typically a pack a day. They certainly give you enough cartridges, and the flavors taste great, but I really don’t like the pressure of having something that recurs every month. Just my personal opinion. Great product quality and taste though.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Rachael

    November 3, 2014 #6 Author

    Rachael’s Score

    • Cost/Value

    • Ease of Draw

    • Vapor Production

    • Flavor/Taste

    • Style/Look

    • Customer Service

    • Speed of Shipment

    • Overall Score

    I’ve been in the market for a new e-cig for awhile, and Charlie’s Club was one that really caught my eye. I was kind of hesitant to sign up for a monthly subscription, but decided to try it out since I learned that they send you all the hardware for free, leaving you to pay for only the cartridges. I really liked this alternative because most of the starter kits I’ve checked out online are well over $80 just for the hardware and about 5 cartridges. Charlie’s Club seemed like a pretty good deal compared to those starter kits. I wasn’t going to get my hopes up about the hardware (since it was free), but I was totally wrong. The e-cig itself is very compact and nice looking, and boy does it pack a punch. Other e-cigs I’ve tried that are this small give little to no vapor payoff, but Charlie’s Club allows me to exhale a generous cloud with each puff. I tried the Charlie’s Blue cartomizers and was pretty impressed. It’s not as strong as some other tobacco-flavored cartomizers that I’ve tried, but it certainly is a lot smoother tasting. Overall, I was really impressed with my Charlie’s Club membership, and can’t wait for my next package to arrive next month!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Tim

    October 29, 2014 #7 Author

    Tim’s Score

    • Cost/Value

    • Ease of Draw

    • Vapor Production

    • Flavor/Taste

    • Style/Look

    • Customer Service

    • Speed of Shipment

    • Overall Score

    I was kind of hesitant to sign up for something that is monthly recurring, but I decided to give Charlie’s Club a try and have no regrets. My first impression of the e-cig was that it was very nice to look at, since the outside is a matte black and the cartridges match. I really liked the fact that they send you 2 USB chargers and a wall adapter for free. Most e-cig kits I’ve looked at will send you one USB charger at the most, and then charge you extra if you want a wall charger to go with it. I still can’t believe they sent me all the hardware for free, but I’m definitely not complaining! I get a pretty nice cloud of vapor with each puff, which I was pretty impressed with since it’s such a small device. I tried the Charlie’s Blue and Charlie’s Choice cartridges, and I really liked how smooth they both tasted. I also liked that it didn’t leave a funny after-taste like some other e-cig brands that I’ve tried. It really doesn’t bother me that they only have 3 flavors to choose from, since I usually go for the tobacco-tasting flavors anyway, and these two really hit the spot. Overall, I’d say Charlie’s Club is a good investment for those who don’t want to go through the hassle of worrying about when to buy new catromizers. I’m definitely going to keep my subscription for a long while.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Helen

    October 28, 2014 #8 Author

    Helen’s Score

    • Cost/Value

    • Ease of Draw

    • Vapor Production

    • Flavor/Taste

    • Style/Look

    • Customer Service

    • Speed of Shipment

    • Overall Score

    When I first heard about Charlie’s Club, I had my hesitations. Normally, I try to stay away from monthly subscription-type deals and products, since I normally forget that I signed up for them and then it charges my credit card without me ever using the product. With Charlie’s Club, it’s a lot different. I’ve tried other e-cigs in the past and stopped using them relatively quickly because normally when I run out of cartomizers, I just stop using the e-cig and go and buy a different one because I don’t want to go through the trouble of ordering more online and waiting. This is really nice because now I never have to remember to go online and buy more before I run out. Charlie’s Club sends me refills every month and takes care of everything for me, which saves me a lot of time and hassle. The only downside I can think of is that there aren’t many flavors to choose from. It’d be nice if they had some more fruity flavors like blueberry or dessert flavors like bubblegum, but I guess I’ll have to stick to the menthol flavor for now. Other than that, I was very impressed with Charlie’s Club and will continue to use it for a long while to come.

    1 out of 1 users found this review helpful.
    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Visit Charlie's Club's Web Site >

  • George

    October 20, 2014 #9 Author

    George’s Score

    • Cost/Value

    • Ease of Draw

    • Vapor Production

    • Flavor/Taste

    • Style/Look

    • Customer Service

    • Speed of Shipment

    • Overall Score

    I chose to subscribe to Charlie’s Club because I’ve never really heard of anything quite like it before. I’m so used to purchasing an e-cig, and then routinely going online to purchase packs of cartomizers online. It’s quite a hassle doing it this way, because I never really knew how many to buy at one time. Do I want to buy enough cartomizers to last me a month? Or 3 months? And how much money would each of those end up costing me? With Charlie’s Club, all I have to do is sign-up and they take care of it for me, which is pretty relieving considering all the other things I have to deal with in my life.

    Another thing that really stood out to me with Charlie’s Club is that all you do is pay for those cartomizers each month. You don’t have to buy a starter kit or a battery and tanks, you just sign up and get all the hardware for free. At first when they said it was free, I thought for sure it was a joke or some sort of scam. But low and behold, I received two batteries, 2 USB chargers, and a wall adapter in my Member’s Package, all for FREE! I could hardly believe it. I really liked how they sent not one, but 2 USB chargers so you could charge each battery at the same time. Not only is the hardware free, but they also do free exchanges if for some reason your hardware isn’t working correctly. One of my batteries stopped working and they sent me a new one quickly and free of charge!

    Overall, I was super impressed with my new membership to Charlie’s Club. One thing I wish was different though was the amount of flavors you can choose from. I tried all 3 for my first month’s subscription, and they were all really smooth. However, I wish they had a coffee flavor or a stronger tobacco flavor. Regardless, the flavors taste great, the hardware works great, and their customer service is exceptional. I’d definitely recommend Charlie’s Club to anyone in the market for a new e-cig.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Jeremy

    October 4, 2014 #10 Author

    Jeremy’s Score

    • Cost/Value

    • Ease of Draw

    • Vapor Production

    • Flavor/Taste

    • Style/Look

    • Customer Service

    • Speed of Shipment

    • Overall Score

    I signed up for Charlie’s Club and was pretty impressed. The part I like the most is that they send you everything you need to use their cartridges for free, but I wish they had more flavor options. It’s also a little pricey, but worth the money.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

Your Scores
Cost/Value
Ease of Draw
Vapor Production
Flavor/Taste
Style/Look
Customer Service
Speed of Shipment
Overall Score