Electronic Cigarettes Reviews.net

Your #1 Source for E-Cigarette Reviews!

Blu Cigs Review Blu Cigs Review
RANK
9th
Kit Price: $69.95*/ with Coupon
Flavors: 7
Nicotine Levels: 4
Warranty: 1 Year
  • Looks & Feels Great
  • The Social Charge Pack
  • Inconsistence Quality
  • Patchy Customer Service
4.3 of 5
Blu Cigs Blu cigs is known for their innovative technology and sleek design. The Social Charge Pack allows you to connect with fellow Blu users around you.
80 100 206

Blu Cigs is one of the hottest brands on the market right now and they offer some of the most cutting edge features and designs. I’ve heard Blu called the “Apple” of e-cigarettes. They are always pushing the envelope and coming out with some crazy new feature that makes the vaping experience better than ever. Blu ecigs are available in stores all over the United States, but you will get the best price if you buy the starter kits and cartridges online. In fact, they are typically a lot more expensive at convenience stores.

Blu was one of the first brands of e-cigarettes reviewed by the ElectronicCigarettesReviews.net review team and has proven to be a favorite of consumers throughout the US and abroad.

Some of the reasons for the popularity of Blu E-Cigs are:

Blu is economical – The Blu Electronic Cigarette starter kit can be purchased for $69.95. Many people that have never tried e-cigarettes choose Blu because there isn’t a huge upfront investment.

Blu has great flavors – The flavors that Blu offers include Classic Tobacco, Magnificent Menthol, Java Jolt, Vivid Vanilla and Cherry Crush, Pina Colada, and Peach Schnapps. Several consumers just prefer the taste of Blu E-Cigarettes over their competitors. Several of our review team members really enjoyed the flavor of the Java Jolt cartridge. Also, several consumer reviews tout the Classic Tobacco flavor because it is so similar to smoking a “traditional” tobacco cigarette. Blu Cigs has partnered with Johnson Creek Smoke Juice to bring their consumers 100% USA made eLiquid inside their cartridges.

Blu batteries can be charged on the go – This is perhaps one of the biggest advantages of Blu Electronic Cigarettes. Blu e-cigs come with a carrying case that charges the e-cigarette batteries while you are on the go. Each of the batteries can be recharged up to 6 times. This means you’ll never be left without an e-cig when you really want one. Many companies are starting to copy Blu Cigs Charger Pack, but Blu Cigs has offered their charger pack longer than almost any other e cig brand out there.

Blu Electronic Cigarettes have a blue LED light at the end of the e-cigarette that lights up when you take a puff. Some e-cigs have an orange light instead and this can really make the e-cig look too much like a tobacco cigarette, which isn’t a good thing when you are puffing an e-cigarette in a bar or restaurant.

These are just a few of the reasons that Blu has garnered so much attention and respect by e-cigarette smokers everywhere. With the low initial cost for the starter kit and the great flavors available, it is no wonder that this brand of e-cig is a favorite of both our review team and consumers that have reviewed Blu.

Blu Cigs are used by a large amount of celebrities like Leonardo DiCaprio and Lindsay Lohan, they have a NASCAR Sprint Cup Series sponsored car, and they are constantly working on pushing the e-cigarette industry forward. All this makes for a solid company that is here to stay.

Blu Premium Pack

Now let’s talk about some details. I recently tried the Blu Premium Pack, which sells for $79.95. It is the most popular starter kit that Blu offers and it comes in either black or white. The kit includes a premium e-cig charger pack with social features, 2 batteries, 1 wall charger, a USB charger, and a 5-pack of cartridges in the strength and flavor of your choice.

The Premium Pack comes in a package that looks like an iphone box. It’s really nicely packaged and you realize instantly that this is a brand that cares about even the tiniest details.

Right away, I noticed that the Blu batteries are tiny so the full e-cig is about the length of an actual cigarette. It’s much smaller than most ecigs I tried and I think that’s a feature that most smokers will find attractive.

The charger pack was probably my favorite aspect of the Premium kit. To work the social feature, you just push a button to turn it on. If you get close to another Blu Cig user with a social pack, your pack with light up and vibrate like crazy. It’s kind of a cool conversation starter and will definitely help you connect with other vapers if you are out in a bar or in a big crowd.

When you put the battery in the premium pack, it doesn’t screw in or anything. You just place it on the charging slot. Then you close the lid and it blinks to show you that your battery is charging. Just keep in mind that there will be a couple seconds of delay before that light comes on to let you know it’s charging.

Blu Premium 100 Kit

I also tried the Blu Premium 100 Kit, which sales for $89.95. It comes with a Premium100 pack with social features, 2 batteries, a wall charger, a USB charger, and a five pack of cartridges in your choice of flavor and nicotine strength. This kit is a great option if you want batteries that last a little longer.

Review continues after kit comparison table...

  • Blu Cigs Kits

  • Given name of the e-cig package Kit Name:
  • The e-cig's construction. Cartomizer: = Atomizer built into replaceable cartridge; 3 Piece = Separate Atomizer.E-cig Type:
  • Number of batteries contained in your kitBatteries:
  • Number of cartridges included in your kitCartridges:
  • Battery Wall Charger Included?Wall Charger:
  • Battery USB Charger Included?USB Charger:
  • Battery Car Charger Included?Car Charger:
  • Personal Charger Pack Included? (Allows recharge on the go)PCP:
  • Standard Storage/Protective Case Included?Case Included:
  • Power Through (Hardwired Battery to USB Port) Included? Power Through:
  • Score from our readers ratings & commentsUser Score:
  • Retail Price (check our coupon section for discounts!)

    Price

  • Compare this kit against other brands in the same price range Rival Compare:
  • standard

  • Premium
  • Cartomizer
  • 2
  • 5
  • yes
  • yes
  • no
  • yes
  • no
  • no
  • $79.95

  • highend

  • Premium100
  • Cartomizer
  • 2
  • 5
  • yes
  • yes
  • no
  • yes
  • no
  • no
  • $89.95

Blu Cartridge Options

You can get refill cartridges in seven flavors: Vivid Vanilla, Cherry Crush, Magnificent Menthol, Classic Tobacco, Java Jolt, Pina Colada, and Peach Schnapps. Nicotine strengths range from zero nicotine to high (13-16mg). Each cartridge has a little symbol on the side to mark the flavor.

As I mentioned earlier, a lot of our team members liked the Java Jolt. It is a less intense coffee flavor and it has really decent vapor production. My personal favorite was the Cherry Crush. It is a completely unique cherry flavor and it’s actually the best cherry e-cig I’ve ever tried. It’s just very fresh and sweet. Blu’s tobacco flavor gives you a rich, deep tobacco taste and it kind of grows on you the more you use it. It’s more of a nonflavored tobacco like the discount brands that a lot of smokers use so it’s a good transitional flavor for people that are just trying to switch over to e-cigs. The tobacco flavor definitely gives off more vapor than any of Blu’s other flavor options. My least favorite was the Magnificent Menthol. It gave me a good amount of vapor, but it had to be primed a lot. Plus it had no throat hit and the flavor was just way too mild.

The Bottom Line on Blu Cigs

Overall, Blu is a great brand that is definitely a favorite for many e-cig users. However, it definitely doesn’t perform as well as V2 Cigs. Still I would say this is a decent option. Just make sure you buy your Blu kits online to save money!

Blu cigs is known for their innovative technology and sleek design. The Social Charge Pack allows you to connect with fellow Blu users around you.
  • Looks & Feels Great
  • The Social Charge Pack
  • Inconsistence Quality
  • Patchy Customer Service

5 of 5

4 of 5

4 of 5

4 of 5

5 of 5

3 of 5

3 of 5

4.3 of 5
Visit Blu Cigs >
Jane Plumber

Jane Plumber - ECR.net Review Team

Jane joined the ECR.net after meeting Dustin on an E-cigarette forum back in 2009. A now ex-smoker of 25 years, she has witnessed the massive advances in e-cig technology since her first review on the site. Although she doesn't review as often she once did, she still chips in with the odd review. She's currently working hard towards early retirement from her Occupational Therapy practice.

  • Yumpin

    August 31, 2015 #1 Author

    Yumpin’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
      Not rated
    • Speed of Shipment
      Not rated
    • Overall Score

    I have tried several brands over the last few months. I happened to be on the road without my usual brand so I stopped by the store and bought the Blu. I’m sorry to say I’m surprised these things have any positive reviews. The batteries last about 25 puffs if I’m lucky and the cartridges fare no better. This is by far the shortest battery life I have experienced. I’m back to my regular brand (V2) which last hours longer than the Blu’s. I was a half pack a day smoker for years so I’m not chain smoking these things. The exaggerated claims for these things mystify me. There are much better brands out there folks, don’t be swayed by the convenience of buying them at your local store. Most of the other brands you need to order online but believe me, they are worth the wait.

    2 out of 2 users found this review helpful.
    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Steve

    April 13, 2015 #2 Author

    Steve’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
      Not rated
    • Speed of Shipment
      Not rated
    • Overall Score

    I chose Blu as they are available everywhere. I bought the starter kit at gas station and did not save the receipt unfortunately. The flavor seems to change after the first 25 pulls. Cherry seems to be the best so far.

    The only thing that I really don’t like about these is the battery life and the charger pack. Mine worked great for about 3 weeks, then the problems started. The batteries would only last about 2 hours. The charger pack would only charge twice without being recharged. I charged the pack in the car for 5 hours and still have the same result. Now one battery is bad and will not recharge, just leaves the blue light on all of the time. Blu will not replace without the sales receipt. Very disappointed about this. The flavor cartridges only last a half a day. So it costs more that the real thing. Research carefully before investing in Blu.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Dennis Dorko

    February 23, 2014 #3 Author

    Dennis Dorko’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
      Not rated
    • Speed of Shipment
      Not rated
    • Overall Score

    The battery life of the cartridges is terrible. Only last about 2 hours.
    I would not buy another kit again.

    4 out of 4 users found this review helpful.
    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Dennis Dorko

    February 23, 2014 #4 Author

    Dennis Dorko’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
      Not rated
    • Speed of Shipment
      Not rated
    • Overall Score

    I have had my kit for only two months and the cartridges need charging after only 2 hours of use. When I first got them they would last all day.
    Would not buy these again.

    2 out of 2 users found this review helpful.
    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Visit Blu Cigs's Web Site >

  • James Wroten

    January 29, 2014 #5 Author

    James Wroten’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    it is just ok…not enough vapor and the batteries die fast.. not the best i have tried.

    1 out of 1 users found this review helpful.
    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • joanie

    October 11, 2013 #6 Author

    joanie’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
      Not rated
    • Speed of Shipment
      Not rated
    • Overall Score

    I purchased the Menthol, No nicotine based on earlier reviews. I don’t care about fashionable ecigs which this product concentrates on – lots of “pretty” box, “pretty” ecig, “pretty” cartridge, etc, but taste – nothing pretty there!. The “menthol, no nicotine” flavor/taste was like burnt rubber – awful, awful.

    2 out of 2 users found this review helpful.
    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Saffikeagan

    April 29, 2013 #7 Author

    Saffikeagan’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
      Not rated
    • Speed of Shipment
      Not rated
    • Overall Score

    I guess I must be spoiled rotten as I tried a disposable Blu rather than my normal Green Smoke. I love my menthol Green Smokes, but I have to buy them online. Blu is sold in stores so it would be way more convenient. The taste of the menthol Blu is bleu. It tastes somewhere between vanilla, tobacco, and vegetable oil. I think I will put up with the hassle of buying my Green Smokes online.

    5 out of 12 users found this review helpful.
    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Cyd

    April 15, 2013 #8 Author

    Cyd’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    Ordered several boxes of medium strength magnificent menthol – flavor is more like the vanilla. Company will not take back due to it being a “consumable” and subject to tampering. Did not offer replacement or refund or anything. Simply told us to rub cartridge in hands to warm up and thump it on the table to improve the flavor. How does this change vanilla to menthol? Your guess is as good as mine!!!!!

    23 out of 31 users found this review helpful.
    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Visit Blu Cigs's Web Site >

  • Kim Greene

    February 24, 2013 #9 Author

    Kim Greene’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    I purchased the original starter kit for 59.99 from a local gas station, Circle K. Great taste, but battery life isn’t very good. Mine is about the size of a short analog cig so I guess that’s to be expected. The cartridges run about 16 dollars for 5. My problem with that is it seems like a cartridge is really only equal to a half a pack. So that is maybe 3 packs of real cigs, which in my brand of Marlboro Blacks Menthol Special Blend, and they cost about $4 with tax in my area. So it’s $12 for analogs vs $16 for Blu. The pack battery pack charger does not charge 6 times either, more like 3 or 4. I also got much more vapor with the disposables, and I prefer a thicker vapor. So great taste, bad battery life, cost too much in the long run, and not enough vapor. doing more research now and I will either get a mod or a V2 manual next. As far as finding an ECig in your local store however, Blu seems to be the best one. Take your time and do some research before sinking your money in Blu, or get one until you can decide what to order online. NJoy is the first one I tried, was ok but then the cartridge got so hot a hole formed in the cartridge, tasting plastic which can kill you. STAY AWAY from the really cheap ecigs and read through this site’s top picks.

    39 out of 41 users found this review helpful.
    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Grover

    September 12, 2012 #10 Author

    Grover’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    I first bought BLU cigs about 2 months ago at Walgreens. I was impressed so much that I went to their website and bought the premium in white. I had noticed that the battery life was not great on the black starter kit from Walgreens and just thought it was because it was the “standard” and it had been improved with the new premium. Not so, the battery life truly sucks. I get about 30 puffs on a battery before it needs charging. I juggle 4 batteries and I am still left with a 4 charging at times.
    Second, the CARTOMIZERS do not work more than 50% of the time. Many are leaking or do not work at all or stop working after a few pulls. I often go through a 5 pack of cartomizers a day and when I smoked regular cigarettes I smoked only a pack a day. Each cartomizer is supposed to last the equivalent of a pack of cigarettes. That would mean that I now smoke 5 pack of cigarettes a day, not. The cartomizers taste burnt after about 40 to 50 pulls. With a fresh battery and a new cartomizer, the pull, taste and vapor is great but slowly diminishes after 30 pulls. I opened a pack of cartomizers and found 2 leaking a brown liquid into my mouth when I pulled on it, realized it was nicotine which made me dizzy, I quickly threw them in the trash. The quality control is not good at all.
    The customer service seems to be good but the hassle of returning a product is not worth the trouble plus that don’t accept cartomizers for return once opened. Besides the battery life sucking and the cartomizers not working most of the time, everything else, (the returnable stuff), works OK
    I had been smoking for 38 years and I have tried quitting many times over the years and Blu Cigs did assist me in quitting, (now more that 2 months cigarette free), so I must give credit where credit is due. I would love the product if it were not for 2 problems and that is battery life, (about 15 to 20 minutes use), and cartomizer quality, ( 3 out of every 5 actually work properly). I have used close to 400 cartomizers so far and I love the flavor and the size and look of Blu Cigs but not the build quality. I am now starting to look at the competition and do a bit of research because the cartomizers are expensive and I feel like I am wasting money for every cartomizer that I throw away because it does not work or taste burnt or is leaking. I gave 3 stars for great shipping, customer service and great flavor. I took away 2 stars for poor battery life and poor quality cartomizers.

    158 out of 174 users found this review helpful.
    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Chris

    July 28, 2012 #11 Author

    Chris’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    Blu is a good product — WHEN/IF you can get it. I was a customer for over 2 years, have lost track of how many times menthol cartridges were out of stock or “lost” in shipping. Then they came out with a new charging case – worked great for 3 months, then not so much — tried to order a 2nd one so I could have one to use while using the warranty to send back to original, only to find out that the only way to get it is to buy a complete extra starter kit ($89 !!!), called, and was told they “hope” to have individual ones available “soon” — same answer I’ve recieved all too many times when they’re out of the menthol products. Really a shame because when you can get a good pack & good cartridges it’s great — but 2 years with too many problems —- time to find another brand!!!

    45 out of 46 users found this review helpful.
    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Vicki Miller

    May 2, 2012 #12 Author

    Vicki Miller’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    I have not been treated more unfairly by a company than I was treated by Blu. They claim to have a 30 day guarantee on their products but there is no guarantee on the filters whatsoever, even when customer service tells you that they can replace unopened filters, then you will get an email saying no exchange. They caused my bank account to overdraft by waiting so long to take out the funds, claiming that the item was out of stock and that I was notified, which I was not. They refused to do anything about anything and except drop me as a customer. Very rude, very unfair, and now I am out over $170.00. Terrible company and I hope they go under, as I am sure they will recieve many other bad reviews because they just do not care about their customers and that is a fact!!!

    65 out of 78 users found this review helpful.
    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Visit Blu Cigs's Web Site >

  • Jason

    November 3, 2011 #13 Author

    Jason’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
      Not rated
    • Speed of Shipment
      Not rated
    • Overall Score

    They’re great! Except… they don’t last very long (or at least the 5 or 6 disposable ones I’ve used). I tested it with a friend, whenever he went out to smoke (real cigarettes) I followed with my e-cig. When the e-cig died, he still had about 5 real ones left in his pack.

    27 out of 33 users found this review helpful.
    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • bb

    July 17, 2011 #14 Author

    bb’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    Shipments are ridiculously SLOW! Customer Service people don’t seem to care much when unhappy, very passive in maintaining customers loyalty and happiness in product. Battery’s charge fairly quickly BUT last just the same, they DO NOT last. You need at least 3 batteries in a day to keep going, so you always have one charged. It’s a constant to be charging these batteries, which is a pain!

    7 out of 9 users found this review helpful.
    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Diane

    March 30, 2011 #15 Author

    Diane’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    The comment below is in regards to the old version of Blu which was a three-piece system. I can say that Volcano brand e-cigs do have replacement atomizers that will fit blu’s old model. Hope that helps! Volcano Review Coming soon, stay tuned! – Admin

    @lelik
    I agree with this review in that the atomizers are inconsistent and often don’t work.

    I see that Blu has changed there cartridges to include the atomizer which may be ok, HOWEVER, I have 10 cartons of the old cartridges and need new atomizers. I contacted Blu to see if they could help me with the atomizers and they said NO. Now stuck with cartridges I can’t use. Poor Customer Service! NOT HAPPY! Does anyone know who might carry atomizers that fit the Blu? Also, I’d love to know what other brand this reviewer switched to. Diane

    1 out of 1 users found this review helpful.
    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • mike

    March 2, 2011 #16 Author

    mike’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    I have smoked many e-sigs, and it seems that blue doesn’t give you the “throat” hit on a consistent basis like the others. I find myself having to refill my cartridges every 10 drags or so just to keep getting the throat hit. The flavors that come in their cartridges aren’t the best either. The cherry kinda tastes like urinal cakes, so not a big fan of them either. Blu is a great e-sig for the person who doesn’t know anything about E-sigs and wants a cheap starter, but there are better ones out there…. A LOT of better ones out there… quite a few worse ones as well.

    1 out of 1 users found this review helpful.
    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Visit Blu Cigs's Web Site >

  • SirVapesAlot

    February 8, 2011 #17 Author

    SirVapesAlot’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    Thank god I found this site. I’ve been looking for an e-cig review forum for quite a while now. So many products out there and with the price tags, you never know what’s worth your coin or not, so again, thank god for this site. Anyway, now to the review:

    I ordered blu back in April of ’10. I received my starter kit promptly. Back then they had the three piece system, which was the standard back then. I got my product in and they worked (good vapor production, single battery lasted 4+ hours, no leaks, ect). After 3 days I wasn’t smoking regular cigarettes anymore, which was awesome being that I’d smoked a pack a day for a decade. They worked so well that after another 5 days of smoke free living, I decided to stock up of cartridges. Bought a crap load of ‘em (the coffee cartridges taste
    WONDERFUL). Then 2 days after that (I had not even received my new cartridges yet) they stopped producing enough vapor. This frustrated me a LOT because I had just decided to depend of the blu whole heartedly and did not even carry a pack of regular smokes to work *just in case*, so I was stranded with out a fix. I thought it was the atomizers, so I ordered 2 of those. My cartridges came in promptly, but my atomizers took WAY longer than they should have, and they still didn’t completely fix my vapor production problem. I kept getting less and less vapor. Then I realized it must be the batteries. I contacted them about getting replacements, and they said it could take 6-8 weeks. I gave up.

    Anyway, I recently decided to give vapeing another try. Blu has gone to a 2 piece system, which made me wanna give them another shot. Besides, I still have the charge-in-your-pocket pack + 2 newish atomizers and a lot of the old style cartridges. I ordered 2 batteries and a five pack of the new atomizer included coffee cartridges. I also ordered a V2 ultimate starter kit. I figure I can see if blu’s product has improved and then decided whether I wanna turn in the V2 for the 30 day full money back guarantee. I may have to post another review for blu in a month to take back all the negativity I posted here. Wish me luck not smoking!

    5 out of 5 users found this review helpful.
    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Douglas Porter

    January 26, 2011 #18 Author

    Douglas Porter’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    After two weeks the charger broke and the cartridges did not last long at all. DO NOT BUY!!!!

    3 out of 4 users found this review helpful.
    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Mitchell Paige

    January 19, 2011 #19 Author

    Mitchell Paige’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
      Not rated
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    Decided to go with Blu when I started researching e-cigs. Was excited to receive my kit but waited 13 days for it to arrive. I was impressed when I received my kit & charged the batteries & started. Very dissapointing. Absolutly no vapor after the first few drags. Taste like medicine & they leak. The liquid tastes horrible. Batteries do not last very long (maybe an hour or two). Was going through numerous cartridges a day & finially gave up about half way through my cartridges. Decided to try Smoke Tip & absolutly love it. Good vapor & taste & received my kit in 4 days. Have already reordered more cartridges for Smoke Tip. Go with Smoke Tip & stay away from Blu.

    1 out of 1 users found this review helpful.
    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Lisa

    January 17, 2011 #20 Author

    Lisa’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    When I first started with blucigs a year ago, the customer service was excellent. I bought starter kits at $15.00 less than the going price and bought cartridges in quanity with different specials that were going. All the good value has gone by the wayside with the customer service. The vapor hasn’t always been very good and the battery life stinks but it is a great alternative to real tobacco. The lastest blunder has been in their changing of the formula. I smoke menthol and the new cartridges don’t even have a hint of menthol. Customer service’s response was that because they now use only US products, the taste has changed. Thanks for the notice!

    1 out of 1 users found this review helpful.
    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Visit Blu Cigs's Web Site >

  • Donald Laney

    January 6, 2011 #21 Author

    Donald Laney’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    The product is wonderful, the best. I have been on no nicotine for 2 months now. Customer service is the worst. I receive a coupon with each shipment for $5.00 off on the next order. I have placed 8 orders online and it will not accept the coupon. I wrote a letter to the CEO and included all 8 coupons. This was 2 months ago and haven’t heard a word.
    Shipping timeline is herrendous. I order some cartridges on December 27. They took the money from my debit card on Dec 28th. Here we are at Jan. 6th and no product. Customer Service will only tell you it should be there anyday. This is the fourth time this has happened out of 9 orders.

    1 out of 1 users found this review helpful.
    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Theresa

    December 11, 2010 #22 Author

    Theresa’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    I loved the cigarettes when I first got them. I could not get my batteries to hold a charge. I would charge them and after about 3 puffs they would not draw. Tried the wall charger, USB charger, the pack charger and none worked well. I loved the size of the cigarette, the taste and the rechargeable carrying case. If I had been able to get the batteries to charge I might not have sent the kit back. I’m thinking it was the poor charge that led to the hard draw and low vapor production but I am not sure. If blu improves these items I would highly recommend, otherwise I would try something else. When I ordered they were out of cartridges, never let me know and when I contacted them (3 times) could never get an answer except that it would be soon. Good Luck!

    1 out of 1 users found this review helpful.
    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Donna

    December 10, 2010 #23 Author

    Donna’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    Both my son and I like the product but good luck getting delivery. If you place an order with more than one item, and they don’t have something in stock, they hold the entire order instead of backordering (it might take weeks for them to receive what they don’t have). They use Streamlite for delivery to a center, and where it is turned over to USPS (so don’t believe their “USPS shipping”). Streamlite is a disaster. The first 2 orders took almost 2 weeks to receive (in Texas), once Streamlite received them. The last one Streamlite lost – when called their comment was the only thing that could be done was to have the shipper reship. Blu reshipped (unfortunately through Steamlite), but at this point it’ll be almost 2 months after the original order before it is received (IF it is received). I wanted to take this on a vacation with me next week, and allowed plenty of delivery time, but definitely will not receive it in time – Blu will not ship any other way. If you decide to go with Blu, be certain to allow a long delivery time (that is, if they have the product in stock).

    1 out of 1 users found this review helpful.
    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Mirella Huss

    December 2, 2010 #24 Author

    Mirella Huss’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    It’s been such a struggle. There was some vapor, not much, with the original kit. Then none. I called them several times and they gave me some tips, none worked. In the end they said I should probably return the atomizers, and they would replace them. My question was “what do I do in the meantime?” go back 100% to regular cigarettes? It was not their problem, so I ordered new ones and figured I’d return the bad ones later, so I wouldn’t be without for two weeks. They do not ship within 24 hours and they do not tell you when they are out of stock, so you wait and wait. Their shipping is free, but they do not offer alternate shipping, where you could pay to get it faster. The new atomizers finally came and the first cartridge I used with the new atomizer produced an incredible amount of vapor and lasted for a long time. I was in heaven until I went to a 2-nd cartridge and no more vapor. Neither of the 2 new atomizers made more than a trickle of vapor, sometimes. I called them again and they said to send back the kit and they will replace it, however they are out of stock and do not know for how long. To me that means weeks of being without, so I ordered a kit from Safe Cig.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Visit Blu Cigs's Web Site >

  • JASON

    December 2, 2010 #25 Author

    JASON’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    Needs more vapor production. Real cigarettes are much better at delivering nicotine. If electric cigarettes are to succeed,they need to deliver nicotine as well as the real thing.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Linda Osbron

    November 20, 2010 #26 Author

    Linda Osbron’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    If your looking for good customer service dont depend on Blucigs. By mistake I ordered to high mg and made me ill. Blucigs refused to refund after stating in their website “if for any reason” you can return. Nor would they exchange the extra cartridge package I ordered, that was unopened. Their shipping was very slow.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • nick

    October 25, 2010 #27 Author

    nick’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    I have had numerous problems with this company and would not recommend dealing with them to anyone. Every time I place an order or attempt to purchase refills there is a problem with my order. The customer service
    reps are also very impatient and they make you feel like you are bothering them by placing an order. I would suggest ordering E-Cigs from some other source.

    1 out of 1 users found this review helpful.
    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Maria

    October 11, 2010 #28 Author

    Maria’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    I’m sorry, but Blu’s vapor production is a little low when compared to the more expensive brands. You can get a little liquid in your mouth on occasion as well. Seems harmless, but thought i would share. Not recomemded, except for the price or a “first try”. Style is great!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Visit Blu Cigs's Web Site >

  • Yvonne V.

    August 13, 2010 #29 Author

    Yvonne V.’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    I have used Smoke Tip for a while and thought I would try something different. Ordered Blu on Monday morning and got it on Saturday…too long. Batteries never charged right, lasted at most 2 hours, 3-part system is not to my liking, after the fist few drags the “hit” is gone and you are vaping flavored smoke.I am amazed this is rated so high on this website, especially with other comments I have read here. I ordered Smoke Tip on Monday evening and got it Thursday. Glad to be back

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • cynthia

    August 11, 2010 #30 Author

    cynthia’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    My Blu will not last longer than 20 minutes and it’s time to recharge. Too bad because they have the best flavors. The pack has never worked for me to recharge the battery. The only good thing about this product is the flavors.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • RichardD

    July 2, 2010 #31 Author

    RichardD’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    Very nice concept: good size, charger and case very good. The battery life is a little short, but the recharge time is very short so no problem. The taste of all flavors tried was generally terrible. The best way to describe the taste is burned plastic. Customer service told me to clean the atomizer – still taste terrible. Really like the package, but the taste was unbearable. Will stick with my old smoking everywhere e cig for now (I must be one of a very few who had good luck with the smoking everywhere brand). The Blu gets two stars only because of “coolness factor”. Had to return it.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Jo- Woods

    June 9, 2010 #32 Author

    Jo- Woods’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    There shipping should have more options, since you cant just run around the corner for the supplies. The shipping is unreliable and so are the tracking numbers.
    I went on a chat with CS tonight, and quite frankly she was rude and acted like my inconvience of my new strter kit no working was not her problem. I had the white one before I ordered the black one, so I knew what to expect, and somehting want working because there was no tast or smoke, not matter the trouble shooting. Now lets see how lont it takes for a exchange. The company needs to realize shipping and CS with people trying to quit smoking need reliability!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Visit Blu Cigs's Web Site >

  • Scott

    May 10, 2010 #33 Author

    Scott’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    I was very pleased with shipment time and the style of the product. Unfortunately the carts and batteries don’t last anywhere near as long as advertized and the charger pack light goes out after a minute of charging. Fortunately the USB charger works as Blu won’t ship a replacement until the old charger is returned at my expense. Very disappointed so far. It isn’t worth even the very low price. Plan to look for a more reliable product.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Jane S.

    May 7, 2010 #34 Author

    Jane S.’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    The flavor/taste of Blu was great. Only drawback was that I would have to change the battery 3 times for one cartridge. There was also no consistancy on how long each cartridge would last.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Cliff

    May 1, 2010 #35 Author

    Cliff’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    These ecigs don’t last as long as I thought they would. Some cartridges I’ve tried have lasted as long as a pack of regular smokes but these didn’t.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Margaret

    April 18, 2010 #36 Author

    Margaret’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    Not impressed.
    My order was shipped quickly, I think it took about 4 days. Price is excellent, but compared to other products out there you definitely will get what you pay for.
    Style, taste and ease of transportation is great. The cartridges taste wonderful, but sadly I only get about one drag before nothing happens.
    If I wait 15-30 minutes in between each drag, it works great. Sadly, that’s not how I smoke, and it doesn’t satisfy me in the slightest.
    The battery is terribly confusing. “Remove after blinking stops.” Okay, sounds simple enough, right? Except for the fact the blinking DOES NOT stop, it just gets progressively longer in between each blink. I haven’t had a battery last for more than one “use” without it dying, and the pack doesn’t charge my batteries at all. The USB charger works great, but I bought this for the ease of use and portability. Having a charger pack is cute, but useless if it doesn’t actually charge.

    I’ll soon see how good customer service is when it comes to the 30-day refund guarantee. They were wonderful with processing the order, I only hope it goes as smooth with the return.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Visit Blu Cigs's Web Site >

  • Angel

    March 6, 2010 #37 Author

    Angel’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    I purchsed this brand of electronic cigarette initially based on reviews for the product. Recently when I had a friend in the hospital I ended up going to a tobacco store and buying another type of e-cig. In comparison, the Blu is not near as productive. I noticed initially that the vapor draw is horrible. The first 2 draws you get vapor and then nothing. They really need to rethink thier atomizer design. Something else I dislike is that you can actually suck the liquid out of the end. Another thing I noticed is that the battery doesn’t last very long.

    Things I like are that they are nice looking and the convienance of the blue pack to use as a recharger when on the go. The price is great for what you get, i just wish the vapor production was there. The range of flavors are nice though the cherry and vanilla really need more flavor to them. Also, cartidges are easily refillable using any type of e-liquid.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Rita

    March 4, 2010 #38 Author

    Rita’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
      Not rated
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    I’m a long time,pack a day smoker who loves smoking and dreamed how nice it would be to have a healthy cigarette. So, I searched the internet for a healthy alternative and discovered e-cigarettes. I researched and opted for the Blu cigarette for these reasons, style, price,the chargeable carrying case, flavor and advertising claims. It took over a month to receive my order and it was’nt worth it. At first I was impressed but after repeated use it’s performance was off and on. At times I’d get a good hit and other times I would have to really draw on it only to get very little or no smoke at all. The battery life sucks, constantly needs recharging and the cartridges did’nt last long. Needless to say my first experience with Blu is not encouraging but I like the concept of the e-cigarettes and hope to find one that lives up to its claims.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Nicky

    February 3, 2010 #39 Author

    Nicky’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
      Not rated
    • Vapor Production
      Not rated
    • Flavor/Taste
      Not rated
    • Style/Look
      Not rated
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    I placed my order over 4 weeks ago. When you call and talk to anyone you get the same answer. Order not shipped yet. Web site says ships within 48 hrs. (EDITED) I have canceled my order. What if you run out of refills and it takes 4 weeks or more to get your order. I would not order from this company.
    Note from ADMIN: Nicky’s comment has been edited to provide room for other reviews. She also added her chat with customer service that confirmed her order not being shipped yet due to high demand of the particular product she had ordered. I have not heard of shipping problems like these since back in October, this is a strange case, but I’ll do some investigation of my own :)

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Eric Wikstrom

    February 3, 2010 #40 Author

    Eric Wikstrom’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    I am a heavy smoker, and was looking for an alternative. I was intrigued with the look and cost of Blu Cigs so I placed an order. Since the black items were on back order, I went with the white. It took a over a week and my order was not processed. I had called 5 times throughout the week and nobody gave me any clear answers as to why my order was delayed. Finally, after 8 days of waiting, I was informed that they has JUST run out of the White starter kits. However, if my order had been processed on time, I would have my order. Customer service was of no help whatsoever. I immediately cancelled my order. I dont care how good they may be, but there are plenty of other brands with much better, and competent customer support. My advice is to look elsewhere for your ecigs.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Visit Blu Cigs's Web Site >

  • Amy

    January 31, 2010 #41 Author

    Amy’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    @Sarah

    Sarah, when you experienced the gittery-ness and nausea after smoking the e-cig, how much food did you have in your system? I ask because I just bought one and it did make me slightly light-headed after a few drags. Not near what you described but it was enough for me to notice. But this was in the morning and I had no food in me, just coffee. Later I puffed on it some more with a full stomach and it wasn’t as bad but still there a little bit. I wonder if the amount of nicotine it says a ‘light’ should have is accurate, or if it’s too concentrated. I think I’m going to order the non-nicotine cartridges and see how that works out. Because I still think an e-cig is a good idea and I don’t want to give up on it, but the light-headedness did creep me out. I just don’t see how a regular smoker could possibly be bothered by the amount of nicotine the e-cig supposedly contains.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Derek

    January 31, 2010 #42 Author

    Derek’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    Ive been useing my blu for about 4 weeks now .i really enjoyed it at first but it seems to be somewhat unreliable.one cart might work great for a day then the next time i change out it might poop out on me after one use.also i noticed if you push out the cup inside of the cart one might be small and the next one bigger(thats both comeing from the same pack of 5)carts just arnt consistent. ive just started dripping my own e juice into my blu carts and im getting much better vapor now.this is a good deal and great for people on the good like me but,if your gonna get one,I say ditch there prefilled carts and just drip your own.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Jen

    January 29, 2010 #43 Author

    Jen’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    I have a green smoke kit, and I’ve tried a firends NJOY, but never a Blu, I really wanted a e-cig w/o the red tip. The look and price were sure cool, but the reast could have been a lot better. Not a bad kit foryour first one.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Sarah

    January 28, 2010 #44 Author

    Sarah’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    Ok. I have been smoking for 10 years. Got this because it seemed like a great idea and had tons of great reviews. Here is my experience. I have TWICE had the nicotine blow into my mouth, which was disgusting and left me jittery and nauseated for hours. The smoke production is very little. And after 2 to 3 puffs I would get incredibly dizzy and feel like I had had a few drinks. The idea of an e cig is fantastic, but my personal experience with it has not been so great. I ordered the lights which is what I have always smoked, and so when I get all dizzy after 2 to 3 puffs and have to stop “smoking” then I feel very less than satisfied. A whole regular cigarette doesn’t leave me feeling so bad. Eh, try it. If it works for you, great! If not, I’m about to find out how good their money back guarantee is!

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Visit Blu Cigs's Web Site >

  • Benjamin

    January 25, 2010 #45 Author

    Benjamin’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
    • Overall Score

    I really like the sleek look to this thing. It could produce a little bit more smoke, but seeing how it’s not actually burning anything it’s pretty good! Great price, I’m gonna save a lot of tobacco products if I keep using this 50% of the time1

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • derick w.

    November 24, 2009 #46 Author

    derick w.’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
    • Customer Service
    • Speed of Shipment
      Not rated
    • Overall Score

    I tried one and it was great but they are now taking over 6 weeks just to ship them and they wait till the last min to hit your bank acount if you use debit. horrible shipping time but great product.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Margie J.

    September 11, 2009 #47 Author

    Margie J.’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
      Not rated
    • Customer Service
      Not rated
    • Speed of Shipment
      Not rated
    • Overall Score

    Bought the Vanilla and felt like I was smoking incense. I haven’t tried the other flavors but I wasn’t impressed with the Vanilla. I will probably try the regular flavor though.

    1 out of 1 users found this review helpful.
    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Ms. Crane

    September 10, 2009 #48 Author

    Ms. Crane’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
      Not rated
    • Customer Service
      Not rated
    • Speed of Shipment
      Not rated
    • Overall Score

    To be honest, the Blu e-cigarette is my least favorite that I’ve tried. I have tried a few now and I would say I was least impressed with Blu.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

  • Visit Blu Cigs's Web Site >

  • Dominic Louis

    September 3, 2009 #49 Author

    Dominic Louis’s Score

    • Cost/Value
    • Ease of Draw
    • Vapor Production
    • Flavor/Taste
    • Style/Look
      Not rated
    • Customer Service
      Not rated
    • Speed of Shipment
      Not rated
    • Overall Score

    I heard a lot about Blu from my smoking friends so I decided to try them for myself. I bought a pack of Java Jolt only to be a bit disappointed. I am used to flicking ashes and smashing out butts so it’s a pretty dramatic change. I admit the flavor was fine but I am just not sure that an electric cigarette is right for me.

    Did you find this review helpful? Yes | No

Your Scores
Cost/Value
Ease of Draw
Vapor Production
Flavor/Taste
Style/Look
Customer Service
Speed of Shipment
Overall Score